Sunday, October 25, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Publication: May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children's

Genre: New Adult ~ Fantasy
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Kobo
Rating: 5/5


A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


As far as fairy tale retellings go, A Court of Thorns and Roses is one of the best ones I've read so far. The whole story sucked me right in and I just couldn't get enough of this world. The story continued to surprise me at almost every page and I loved the twist on faeries. 

The story is about Feyre, who's pretty much the sole provider for her family. One day while hunting she kills a wolf, who's actually a faerie in disguise. This starts a chain of events that Feyre never saw coming. When she's forced by a beast to choose between death or living her life out in Prythian, the land of the faeries that she hates so much, to pay for the life of his friend, she goes with him, having every intention of escaping and running which doesn't prove all that easy.

I thought Feyre was a really great character. She wasn't perfect by a long shot, which is good because perfect main characters are really boring. In fact, Feyre was illiterate so she certainly had some weaknesses. I also loved that she was totally human but she still took risks and was very brave. 

Tamlin (a.k.a the beast) was interesting for sure. At the start I wasn't actually sure if I liked him or not but somehow he snuck up on me and before I realized it, I started really loving him. Especially when it came to Feyre. They really had some hot chemistry going on. Lucien was also a character that was awesome. A friend and courtier to Tamlin + his tragic backstory made me love him fairly fast. 

But the guy I loved the most was Rhysand. At first I was not certain where he stood and it's more towards the end that I really got to read more about him, but oh once I did, there was no going back. I instantly adored him. And I hope the next book will let us get to know him better. 

The romance was amazing, I loved how Feyre and Tamlin slowly but surely fell in love. There was no insta-love or any of that crap so that was a breath of fresh air for me. There was also a lot of action and danger in the story, which kept me at the edge of my seat at all times.

A Court of Thorns and Roses was beautifully written, featured intriguing and complex characters, had heartstopping romance and action + the magical world of the fae took my breath away. In one word: Perfection!




       About the Author:

Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages.

A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies. Queen of Shadows, the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, will release worldwide on September 1st, 2015.


5 comments:

  1. This is a great story altogether, but Feyre made me so mad. Still, I can't wait for the next book. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. wow i's goodt o read someone else enjoyed this book as much as me. i ws thinking it was due to me being a huge fan of beauty and the beast, but yes, the story and characters were amazing and well developed too, the twist on the classic was oneof the best i had read so far and their romance was truly captivating :) this is one i wouldn't mind re-reading at any time :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great post dear! Have a wonderful weekend:)

    irenethayer.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. Everyone seems to be falling in love with this book and loving the fey and retelling aspect of it. I have heard so much about this author but have yet to try one of her books. I have this on my TBR so I hope to read it at some point :D

    ReplyDelete

Share your thoughts! ♥