Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: Athena's Champion by David Hair & Cath Mayo

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.


Athena's Champion by David Hair & Cath Mayo
Expected publication: November 8th 2018 by Canelo

The first in a thrilling new historical fantasy series; Odysseus must embrace his secret heritage and outwit the vengeful Gods who would control or destroy him…

Prince Odysseus of Ithaca is about to have his world torn apart. He’s travelled to the oracle at Pytho to be anointed as heir to his island kingdom; but instead the Pythia reveals a terrible secret, one that tears down every pillar of his life, and marks him out for death.

Outcast by his family, hunted by the vengeful gods, Odysseus is offered sanctuary by Athena, goddess of wisdom, and thrust into the secret war between the Olympians for domination and survival. Only his wits, and his skill as a warrior, can keep him ahead of their power games – and alive.

When one of Athena’s schemes goes drastically wrong, and the young Helen of Sparta is kidnapped, Odysseus must journey past the gates of Hades to save her. Falling in love with a Trojan princess, a bewitching woman who poses a deadly threat to both his homeland and Athena, won’t make his task any easier…

Drawing from classic Greek mythology, Athena's Champion, first in the epic Olympus series, is perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and David Gemmell.

Look what book I stumbled upon yesterday! 😍
This is the first book in a new historical fantasy trilogy about 
Odysseus. Doesn't it sound absolutely perfect? I'd read anything that's derived from Greek mythology but I have a special place in my heart for Odysseus and anything related to the Trojan war so I'm really excited to read the book. The cover is freaking gorgeous as well. I love the owl on the cover because it clearly represents Athena. It's so beautiful.

Also, it's up for $2.99 for pre-order on Kindle so of course I 1-clicked it already! 


Share your thoughts!
What do you think of this book?

16 comments:

  1. Oooh! I love the look of that cover! Great pick!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds amazing! I'm so into Greek mythology lately.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I do love that cover, looks like a perfect choice if you're looking for a story about mythology😊

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love this cover. I haven't seen this one before but I like the blurb. Thanks for bringing it to my attention! Great pick!

    Mary my CWW!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh yeah, count me in! Historical Fantasy with Greek Mythology <3 !!!! I'm in love already, can you tell? :D

    Thanks so much for sharing, here's my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Barb(Boxermommyreads)October 3, 2018 at 4:14 PM

    That's a great preorder price and man, that cover. I'm gonna have to give this one a go. Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  7. The Candid Cover YA book bloggOctober 3, 2018 at 8:50 PM

    What a fantastic find! This one sounds like it is written just for you. I hope that you love it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I don't read a whole lot of fantasy but I love Greek mythology so you certainly have me intrigued. Thanks for putting it on my radar. And I can't wait to see what you think of it!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Historical fantasy based on Greek mythology- nice! I love the sound of this. Yay for an Odysseus story- I hope it's awesome. And yes the cover is very nice- definitely adding this !

    ReplyDelete
  10. I don't read this genre as much as I'd like. This one does sound exciting.

    ReplyDelete
  11. So i'm not normally one for historical type stories but that totally goes out the window with Greek mythology and epics like the Odyssey so yep going to have to give it a look!

    ReplyDelete
  12. OMG, Steph, this is just FABULOUS!!! I LOVE anything to do with Greek mythology, too!! So this is right up my alley!



    You know, at first glance, I thought this was a new Rick Riordan book. The cover has that vibe. But then I saw that it was a new book. Well, I LOVE that cover, too!!



    I'm adding this one to my Goodreads shelves right away! Thanks so much for featuring it!! Hope you're having a GREAT Sunday!! It's about 8:00 PM there right now, right? Is that about 19:00 hours European time? Well, anyway, have a good one!! HUGS!!!!! <3 <3 <3 :) :) :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Ooh, this is so interesting! Thanks so much for revealing it to me. I love Greek mythology and this one is so for you because it is historical fiction and fantasy. You must be so happy! By the way, did you read Circe yet? Because if not I think you'd love that too ^.^

    ReplyDelete

Share your thoughts! ♥