Thursday, October 13, 2016

Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Title: Soundless
Author: Richelle Mead
Publication: November 12th 2015 by Puffin

Genre: Young Adult ~ Fantasy
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Google Play | Kobo
Rating: 4/5

For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village. Her people are at the mercy of a mysterious faraway kingdom, which delivers food in return for precious metals mined from the treacherous cliffs surrounding them.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, their rations shrink and many go hungry. Fei's home, the boy she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.

Then Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon . . .

Perfect for readers of THE HUNGER GAMES, this epic fantasy from the international bestselling author of VAMPIRE ACADEMY will have you instantly hooked and on the edge of your seats.


I know a lot of people disliked Soundless but I ended up really liking it, which was a huge surprise to me. I thought this was just such a unique story and Fei was a great heroine, in my opinion. It's definitely another favorite book of mine now by Richelle Mead.

This wasn't a very long book but I didn't feel like it took away much from the world and character building. I also thought the writing was really good and the setting was just beautiful. And like I said I thought Fei was a great heroine. I loved her protectiveness to her sister and how she was willing to do anything for her, even go down the mountain.

I also loved the unique story about a village where everyone can't hear and where some people even are starting to lose their vision. I just wanted to know what caused this and how Fei fit into it all, once she suddenly started getting her hearing back.

The romance was also really well done. I loved that Fei and Li Wei had some history together, which always is a plus. I was really rooting for them. 

I really wouldn't mind more books in this world because I just loved it. It doesn't have to be necessarily about Fei, although I wouldn't mind that. There's so much more potential with this world.




       About the Author:

       Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads
Richelle Mead has written over twenty-five novels for teens and adults. She is the author of the international #1 bestselling Vampire Academy series and its spinoff series, Bloodlines. Her recent standalone novel, Soundless, draws upon Chinese mythology and history, and her forthcoming series, The Glittering Court, follows the adventures of girls destined for arranged marriages in a fantasy world inspired by colonial America. A lifelong reader, Richelle has always had a particular fascination with mythology and folklore. When she can actually tear herself away from books (either reading or writing them), she enjoys bad reality TV, traveling, trying interesting cocktails, and shopping for dresses to wear on tour. She is a self-professed coffee addict, works in her pajamas, and has a passion for all things wacky and humorous. Originally from Michigan, Richelle now lives in Seattle, Washington, where she is hard at work on her next novel.


14 comments:

  1. So glad you could enjoy this one. I've always wondered what I might think if I hadn't gone in with all the expectations of both Richelle Mead and of more Fantasy.

    Di @ Book Reviews by Di

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I did go into it with lower expecations than I normally would've had and it also felt more historical-ish in my opinion and I happen to love that.

      Delete
  2. I enjoyed this one as well! I got confused on people not liking it after I read it haha

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad you liked it also! Guess we're just odd ducks like that. lol

      Delete
    2. LilyElement, I'm a huge advocate for this book. It's one of the rare books where I get angry when people say they don't like it. I'm genuinely confused. I'm like, "well, what is wrong with you?" I know people have different tastes, but Soundless is an exception to that rule. It's simply excellent. End of argument. Lol.

      Delete
  3. The concept, specifically the "sound as a weapon" idea is definitely catching for me. I might have to checked it out when I have free time. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a really great read and not very long :)

      Delete
  4. Cool, I'm glad you liked this one! I thought it was okay but I didn't really love it. It was my first Mead book and given all the hype surrounding the author's previous books, I was disappointed. I think my expectations were too high. :D But it was an interesting read!

    Wonderful review, Stephanie. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I definitely like her Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series more (some books more than others) so hope you'll give those a shot.

      Delete
  5. I'm happy you enjoyed Soundless, Stephanie! I own this book, but haven't picked it up yet. And I was so sad to see the reviews from people who didn't like this at all. I hope I'll end up loving it, too!
    Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I guess it's because it's something different from Richelle Mead so people might not be used to a story like this? I don't know. Hope you'll love it also!

      Delete
  6. Oh you gave it 2 more stars than I did, haha. I'm glad it worked out for you! I really didn't like it so much and thought it was mostly boring ... some scenes were okay and at times I did enjoy it but overall it's just not as good as her other books - I was disappointed because I know she can do better. Oh well.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, that's why I was worried I wouldn't like it because you gave it only 2 stars. But I'm glad it worked out for me in the end. I really enjoyed it.

      Delete
  7. Well, what other people thought doesn't really matter in the end if you liked it! I am glad you could enjoy this one and I hope you'll be able to enjoy the sequel if there will be one. The world sounds pretty cool and magical ;)

    ReplyDelete

Share your thoughts! ♥

♥ Holly's Boys ♥

Highly recommended story to check out!